Research Ideas and Outcomes : Project Report
PDF
Project Report
Documentation of a public communication project by German-speaking scientists prior to the September 2021 climate demonstrations
expand article infoGregor Hagedorn, Kirsten von Elverfeldt§
‡ Museum für Naturkunde, Berlin, Germany
§ Universität Klagenfurt, Klagenfurt, Austria
Open Access

Abstract

English: Documentation of a communication project by German-speaking scientists encouraging their peers to participate in the September 2021 climate demonstrations by means of short statements or appeals (German, with English and French translations).

Deutsch: Dokumentation eines Kommunikationsprojekts deutschsprachiger Wissenschaftler:innen, ihre Kolleg:innen mit kurzen Statements oder Aufrufen zur Teilnahme an den Klimademonstrationen im September 2021 zu ermuntern (deutsch, mit englischer und französischer Übersetzung).

Français: Documentation d'un projet de communication de scientifiques germanophones visant à encourager leurs collègues à participer aux manifestations pour le climat en septembre 2021 par de courtes déclarations ou des appels (en allemand, avec traduction en anglais et en français).

Keywords

Climate Crisis; Global Climate Strike, Science Communication, Social Media, Science-Policy-Interface

Introduction

The following text documents, as a basis for scientific evaluations, a communication project to encourage German-speaking scientists to participate in the global climate demonstrations on 24 September 2021. The communication consisted of

  1. an E-Mail newsletter (August 2021) containing 50 appeals by scientists to their colleagues and
  2. social media postings (September 2021) with 58 appeals by scientists appeals to their colleagues.

These texts are not representative of the opinions of the colleagues active in Scientists for Future. The number of texts was limited by the length of a newsletter or the reasonable number of postings on social media. Therefore, only a few colleagues could be asked for a call. Due to the required brevity (< 500 characters), the colleagues had to limit themselves to a few aspects (note: some calls were included despite exceeding the number of characters).

The calls were also widely shared on social media channels. On Twitter, they reached high numbers of views/impressions, peaking at 243 000 impressions.

They are documented in the original German version. English and French translations are provided.

Deutsch: Der folgende Text dokumentiert – als Grundlage für wissenschaftliche Auswertungen – ein Kommunikationsprojekt bei dem deutschsprachige Wissenschaftler zur Teilnahme an den globalen Klimademonstrationen am 24. September 2021 ermutigt werden sollten. Die Kommunikation bestand aus

  1. einem E-Mail-Newsletter (August 2021) mit 50 Aufrufen von Wissenschaftlern an ihre Kollegen und
  2. Social-Media-Postings (September 2021) mit 58 Aufrufen von Wissenschaftlern an ihre Kollegen.

Die Texte der Aufrufe sind nicht repräsentativ für die Meinungen der bei Scientists for Future aktiven Kolleg:innen. Die Zahl der Texte war begrenzt durch die Länge eines Rundschreibens bzw. die sinnvolle Anzahl von Postings auf Social Media. Es konnten daher nur wenige Kolleg:innen um einen Aufruf gebeten werden. Bedingt durch die geforderte Kürze (< 500 Zeichen) mussten sich die Kolleg:innen zudem auf wenige Aspekte beschränken (Hinweis: einige Aufrufe wurden trotz Überschreitung der Zeichenzahl zugelassen). Die Aufrufe wurden auch in den sozialen Medien weit verbreitet. Beispielsweise auf Twitter erreichten sie in der Spitze 243 000 Abrufe. Diese sind in der deutschen Originalfassung dokumentiert. Englische und französische Übersetzungen sind beigefügt.

Français: Le texte suivant documente, comme base pour les évaluations scientifiques, un projet de communication visant à encourager les scientifiques germanophones à participer aux manifestations climatiques mondiales du 24 septembre 2021. La communication se composait

  1. d'une lettre d'information électronique (août 2021) contenant 50 appels de scientifiques à leurs collègues et
  2. de publications sur les médias sociaux (septembre 2021) avec 58 appels de scientifiques à leurs collègues.

Ces textes ne sont pas représentatifs de l'opinion des collègues actifs dans Scientists for Future. Le nombre de textes était limité par la longueur d'un bulletin d'information ou le nombre raisonnable de publications sur les médias sociaux. Par conséquent, seuls quelques collègues ont pu être sollicités. En raison de la brièveté requise (< 500 caractères), les collègues ont dû se limiter à quelques aspects (remarque : certains appels ont été autorisés malgré le dépassement du nombre de caractères). Les appels ont également été largement diffusés sur les médias sociaux. Sur Twitter, par exemple, ils ont atteint un pic de 243 000 consultations/impressions. Ils sont documentés dans la version originale allemande. Des traductions en anglais et en français sont fournies.

From here on, the German version comes first (being the original version), followed by the English and French translations.

Documentation

The documentation consists of two parts: The newsletter sent in August and the Social Media Postings sents in September.

Documentation of the newsletter

Dokumentation des Rundbriefs

Betreff: Einladung an die wissenschaftlichen Kolleg:innen, zu einer Klima-Demonstration am 24.9. zu kommen

Liebe Kollegin, lieber Kollege,

Fridays for Future organisiert am 24. September eine große Klimademonstration. Die Unterzeichnenden dieses Briefes werden teilnehmen und möchten dich ermuntern, ebenfalls zu kommen. Dies ist an vielen Orten in Deutschland möglich (https://www.klima-streik.org/demos). Komm gerne mit Familie und Freunden. Auch wenn die Zeit knapp ist und es vielleicht das erste Mal ist.

Als besonders gut informierte Bürger und Bürgerinnen dieses Landes können wir die politische Dringlichkeit der Reformen durch diesen persönlichen Einsatz bekräftigen. Demonstrationen können ein wichtiges und wirksames Zeichen sein.

Und wir können die Gelegenheit nutzen, unsere Botschaften unter die Menschen zu bringen, sei es mit Plakaten (welche Information wird derzeit zu wenig wahrgenommen?), sei es im Gespräch.

Wir freuen uns, wenn viele Wissenschaftler:innen am 24.9. dabei sind!

_____

Bitte leite diesen Brief auch an deine Kollegen und Kolleginnen weiter!

Und gerne könnt ihr uns mit SPENDEN unterstützen! Informationen, auch zur Verwendung, findet ihr hier: https://de.scientists4future.org/spenden/

_____

Im Folgenden teilen einige Kollegen und Kolleginnen ihre – durchaus unterschiedlichen – Gedanken zu den aktuellen Ereignissen und zur Teilnahme von Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler an Demonstrationen, mit:

[An dieser Stelle folgten 50 persönlichen Aufrufe. Diese werden hier nicht in Originalform dokumentiert, da sie teilweise (im Laufe der Freigabe für die Social Media) nachträglich korrigiert wurden und eine Person auf Social Media nicht öffentlich teilnehmen mochte. Näherungsweise entsprachen diese Aufrufe den ersten 49 der im Folgenden dokumentierten Aufrufe. Neun Aufrufe konnten im Rundbrief nicht mehr erscheinen und erschienen nur auf Social Media.]

English, Documentation of the Newsletter: Invitation to a climate demonstration on September 24 near you Dear Colleague, Fridays for Future is organizing a global climate march on September 24th. The signatories of this letter will be there and would like to encourage you to participate as well. There are many places where you can join. (In Germany, locations and times are listed here: https://www.klima-streik.org/demos). Feel free to bring family and friends. Even if time is scarce and if it is your first time – it is an important and effective signal. As particularly well informed citizens of this country, we can strongly support the political urgency of reform through this personal commitment. This is an opportunity to get our messages out to people, whether with posters (what information is missing in your view?) or in conversations. We would be happy to see many scientists present on September 24th. […] In the following, some colleagues share their – surprisingly diverse – thoughts on the current events and on the participation of scientists in demonstrations.

Français, / Lettre d'information: Invitation à une manifestation sur le climat le 24 septembre près de chez vous Chère et cher collègue, Les Fridays for the Future organisent une grande manifestation sur le climat le 24 septembre. Les signataires de cette lettre y participeront et aimeraient vous encourager à y venir également. Elle aura lieu dans plusieurs endroits en Allemagne (https://www.klima-streik.org/demos). N'hésitez pas à venir avec votre famille et vos amis. Même si votre temps est précieux et que vous n'y êtes jamais allé. Cet engagement personnel nous donne l'occasion d'affirmer, nous les citoyens éclairés, à quel point les réformes politiques sont urgentes. Les manifestations peuvent être un signal important et efficace. Et nous pouvons profiter de l'occasion pour faire passer le message aux gens, par des affiches (quelles informations n'ont pas été assez affirmées jusqu'à présent ?) ou dans des discussions. Nous espérons croiser de nombreux scientifiques le 24 septembre ! […] Dans les lignes qui suivent, quelques collègues nous font part de leurs réflexions – bien différentes – sur les événements actuels et sur la participation des scientifiques aux manifestations.

Documentation of calls by scientists which appeared on social media

1. Prof. Dr. Maja Göpel:

„Wissen schaffen ist die Grundlage einer lernenden und innovativen Gesellschaft. Dieses Wissen in die Gesellschaft zu tragen, ist wichtiger denn je. Danke, dass dieses Netzwerk dabei so großartig zusammenwirkt! Bei der Politik Wirkung entfalten konnten im Endeffekt jedoch nur die Zahl der Menschen auf der Straße, auf Social Media und in politischen Initiativen, die sich auf unser Statement berufen haben. Deshalb gehe ich auch am 24.9. wieder mit und würde mich freuen, viele Wissenschaftler:innen zu sehen. Als Bürger:innen.

English: “Creating knowledge is the basis of a learning and innovative society. Bringing this knowledge to society is more important than ever. I am grateful for the great cooperation within this network! In the end, however, only the number of people on the street, on social media and in political initiatives who have referred to our statement have been able to have an impact on politics. That's why I'm going along again on September 24th and would be happy to see many scientists. As citizens.

Français: « La production de savoir est la base d'une société d'apprentissage et d'innovation. Il est plus important que jamais d'apporter ces connaissances à la société. Merci pour la grande coopération de ce réseau ! En définitive, cependant, seul le nombre de personnes dans la rue, sur les médias sociaux et dans les initiatives politiques qui se réfèrent à notre déclaration, peut avoir un impact sur la politique. C'est pourquoi je serai à nouveau présent le 24 septembre et je serais heureuse d’y voir de nombreux scientifiques. En tant que citoyens. »

2. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Lucht:

„In einer aufgeklärten Gesellschaft wendet sich Wissenschaft nicht nur an die Politik, sondern auch an die Gesellschaft. Bereits 2019 haben die Scientists for Future erklärt: Die Anliegen der Fridays for Future Bewegung sind berechtigt und gut begründet. Deshalb würde ich mich freuen, wenn die daraus entstandene Koalition von Gruppen für eine ökologische Transformation Deutschlands von allen Wissenschaftler:innen, die derselben Meinung sind, am 24.9. aktiv unterstützt wird – insbesondere auch durch Teilnahme an den Demonstrationen.“

English: “In an enlightened society, science addresses not only politics, but also society. Already in 2019, Scientists for Future declared: "The concerns of the Fridays for Future movement are justified and well-founded. Therefore, I would be pleased if the resulting coalition of groups for an ecological transformation of Germany is actively supported by all Scientists who share the same opinion on September 24th – in particular also by participating in the demonstrations.

Français: « Dans une société éclairée, la science n'aborde pas seulement la politique, mais aussi la société. Les scientifiques du futur ont déjà déclaré en 2019 : “Les préoccupations du mouvement des Fridays for the Future sont justifiées et fondées.” C'est pourquoi je serais heureux que la coalition de groupes pour une transformation écologique de l'Allemagne qui en résulte soit activement soutenue, par tous les scientifiques qui partagent la même opinion, le 24 septembre – notamment en participant aux manifestations. »

3. Prof. Dr. Linus Mattauch:

„Was man bei der Bundestagswahl am 26. September wählen soll, ist keine Frage für die Wissenschaft. Dass die zukünftige Bundesregierung eine Umweltpolitik machen muss, die den bindenden internationalen Abkommen gerecht wird, das lohnt es – gerade aus der Gesellschaftswissenschaft und in vielfältigen Formaten – immer wieder anzumahnen.“

English: “What to vote for in the federal election on September 26 is not a question for science. However, the fact that the future German government must pursue an environmental policy that complies with the binding international agreements is something that is worth reminding of again and again – especially from the social sciences and in a variety of formats.

Français: « La question de savoir pour qui voter lors des élections fédérales du 26 septembre n'est pas une question de science. Le fait que le futur gouvernement fédéral doit élaborer une politique environnementale qui rende justice aux accords internationaux contraignants est une chose qui mérite d'être soulignée encore et encore – en particulier par les sciences sociales et sous diverses formes. »

4. Prof. Dr. Detlev Ganten:

„Die Zukunft ist offen! Das heißt wir können und müssen sie gestalten. Unser aller Zukunft und Wohlergehen wird entschieden durch Bildung, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft. Wir müssen heute Verantwortung übernehmen für Gesundheit, Umwelt und Klima.“

English: “The future is open! That means we can and must shape it. The future and well-being of all of us will be determined by education, science and the economy. We must take responsibility today for health, the environment and the climate.

Français: « L'avenir est ouvert ! Cela signifie que nous pouvons et devons la façonner. L'avenir et le bien-être de chacun d'entre nous seront décidés par l'éducation, la science et l'économie. Nous devons aujourd'hui prendre nos responsabilités en matière de santé, d'environnement et de climat. »

5. Prof. Dr. Ellen Matthies:

„Die Bürger:innen sind längst zum Klimaschutz bereit und unterstützen mehrheitlich selbst weitgehende Maßnahmen. Immer noch wird dies ignoriert von einer viel zu zögerlichen Politik. Das macht mich als Wissenschaftlerin fassungslos. Am 24.9. wird sich die kollektive Rationalität der Verantwortungsbewussten und Mutigen endlich wieder zeigen – auf der Straße.“

English: “Citizens are ready to protect the climate and the majority of them support far-reaching measures. But this is still ignored by politicians who are far too hesitant. As a scientist, I am stunned by this. On “September 24th, the collective rationale of the responsible and courageous will finally show itself again – on the streets.

Français: « Les citoyens sont depuis longtemps prêts à protéger le climat et la plupart d'entre eux soutiennent des mesures de grande envergure. Mais ceci est encore ignoré par les politiciens qui sont bien trop hésitants. En tant que scientifique, je suis stupéfaite de cette situation. Le 24 septembre, la rationalité collective des responsables et des courageux se manifestera à nouveau – dans la rue. »

6. Prof. Dr. Stefan Heiland:

„Selbstverständlich bin ich bei den Klima-Demos am 24.9. dabei. Denn ich bin nicht nur Wissenschaftler, sondern auch Mensch und Vater und damit selbst direkt und indirekt von den Folgen des Klimawandels betroffen. Gerade weil ich als Wissenschaftler das Privileg habe, mich intensiver als andere damit auseinandersetzen zu können, habe ich eine besondere Verantwortung, mich für den Schutz aller Lebensgrundlagen einzusetzen – politisch ebenso wie durch mein individuelles Verhalten.“

English: “Of course I will be at the climate demos on September 24th. Because I am not only a scientist, but also a human being and a father. I am therefore directly and indirectly affected by the consequences of climate change. Precisely because I am a scientist with the privilege of engaging with this more intensively than others, I have a special responsibility to stand up for the protection of all life's foundations – politically as well as through my individual behaviour.

Français: « Je serai bien sûr présent aux manifestations sur le climat le 24 septembre. Parce que je ne suis pas seulement un scientifique, mais aussi un être humain et un père, et donc moi-même directement et indirectement touché par les conséquences du changement climatique. C'est précisément parce qu'en tant que scientifique, j'ai le privilège de pouvoir m'en occuper de manière plus intensive que d'autres, que j'ai la responsabilité particulière de m'engager pour la protection de tous les fondements de la vie – tant sur le plan politique que par mon comportement individuel. »

7. Prof. Dr. Jörg Kopecz:

„Menschengemachter Klimawandel ist eine Tatsache. Niemand kann dies seriös bestreiten. Als Wissenschaftler:innen tragen wir Verantwortung wie alle Teile unserer Gesellschaft. Wir tragen unseren Teil dazu bei, die Konsequenzen zögerlichen Handelns aufzuzeigen und zugleich Wege aus der Krise auf Basis unserer Erkenntnisse zu zeigen. Dies nicht zu nutzen ist nicht nur fahrlässig, es ist im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes brandgefährlich für die Menschheit.“

English: “Man-made climate change is a fact. No one can seriously deny this. As scientists, we bear responsibility just like all other parts of our society as well. We do our part to point out the consequences of hesitant action and at the same time we can show ways out of the crisis based on our findings. Not taking advantage of this is not only negligent, it is literally a fire hazard for humanity.

Français: « Le changement climatique dû à l'homme est un fait. Personne ne peut sérieusement le nier. En tant que scientifiques, nous avons une responsabilité comme toutes les parties de notre société. Nous nous efforçons d'attirer l'attention sur les conséquences d'une action hésitante et, dans le même temps, de montrer des moyens de sortir de la crise sur la base de nos conclusions. Ne pas en profiter n'est pas seulement une négligence, c'est littéralement un risque d'incendie pour l'humanité. »

8. Prof. Dr. Mark Lawrence:

„Wem eine sichere und auch gesunde Zukunft für uns selbst und nachfolgende Generationen wichtig ist, sollte sich intensiv für Klimaschutzmaßnahmen einsetzen. Besonders wichtig beim Klimaschutz ist die sozialverträgliche Umsetzung. Glauben Sie aber dabei nicht an „Zauberlösungen“! So schnell wird es diese nicht geben. Ganzheitliche und gemeinwohlorientierte Lösungsansätze gibt es jedoch jede Menge!“

English: “Anyone who cares about a secure and healthy future for ourselves and future generations should work intensively on climate protection measures. Socially acceptable implementation is particularly important in climate protection. But there are no “silver bullets”! At least not anytime soon. . However, we already have plenty of holistic and public welfare-oriented solutions we can implement now!”

Français: « Quiconque se soucie d'un avenir sûr et sain pour nous-mêmes et les générations futures doit s'engager en faveur de mesures de protection du climat. Une mise en œuvre socialement acceptable est particulièrement importante pour protéger le climat. Mais ne croyez pas aux “solutions magiques” ! Elles ne viendront pas rapidement. Il existe pourtant de nombreuses solutions holistiques et axées sur le bien-être public ! »

9. Prof. Dr. Claudia Kemfert:

„Wissenschaft ist eindeutig: Wir haben kein Erkenntnis- sondern Umsetzungsproblem. Erneuerbare statt Kohle, Öl und Gas! Gleise statt Straßen! Jeder Euro, den wir jetzt investieren, spart 15 Euro Klimaschäden ein. Klimaschutz zahlt sich aus. Macht mit, bringt euch ein! Und tut vor allem eins: geht zur Wahl! Wir haben die Klima-Wahl!“

English: “The science is clear: We understand the issues, that’s not the problem, the problem is implementation. Renewables instead of coal, oil and gas! Tracks instead of roads! Every euro we invest now cuts down 15 euros in climate damage. Climate protection pays off. Join in, get involved! And do one thing above all: go vote! We have the climate choice!”

Français: « La science est claire : nous n'avons pas un problème de connaissance, mais de mise en œuvre. Les énergies renouvelables au lieu du charbon, du pétrole et du gaz ! Des pistes au lieu de routes ! Chaque euro que nous investissons aujourd'hui permet d'économiser 15 euros de dommages climatiques. La protection du climat est payante. Participez, impliquez-vous ! Et surtout, faites une chose : allez aux urnes ! Nous avons le vote climatique ! »

10. Prof. Dr. Hermann Ott:

„Wir haben 2019 als Scientists for Future die Fridays unterstützt – einfach indem wir klargestellt haben, dass die Jugendlichen und jungen Erwachsenen mit ihren Warnungen vor der Klimakrise auf wissenschaftlich sicherem Boden stehen. Das hat ungeheure Wirkung gehabt und da können wir stolz drauf sein. Diese Unterstützung durch uns brauchen sie auch weiterhin. Sichtbar. In Wort und Tat. Am 24. September 2021.

English: “As Scientists for Future, we supported the Fridays in 2019 – simply by clarifying that the youth and young adults are on scientifically safe ground with their warnings about the climate crisis. This has had tremendous impact and we can be proud of that. They continue to need this support from us. Visibly. In word and deed. On September 24th, 2021.

Français: « En tant que Scientists for Future, nous avons soutenu les vendredis en 2019 – simplement en faisant comprendre que les jeunes et les jeunes adultes sont sur un terrain scientifique sûr avec leurs avertissements sur la crise climatique. Cela a eu un impact considérable et nous pouvons en être fiers. Ils continuent d'avoir besoin de ce soutien de notre part. Visiblement. En paroles et en actes. Le 24 septembre 2021. »

11. Dr. Daniel Dahm:

„Wissenschaft beinhaltete schon immer die Übernahme von Verantwortung gegenüber der Welt und der menschlichen Entwicklung. Den Zugriff auf die natürlichen Ressourcen haben wir erst möglich gemacht und den technologischen Fortschritt zur Beherrschung der ungebändigten und wilden Natur über Jahrzehnte legitimiert. Mindestens 30 Jahre haben die Wissenschaften überwiegend in Untätigkeit verharrt und optimiert, wie wir unsere Zukunft und die unserer Kinder und Kindeskinder zerstören. Jetzt ist es an uns, in aller Härte und mit allen Konsequenzen diesen Raubbau zu beenden, auch wenn es uns unseren Konsumwohlstand kostet. Es geht nicht nur um Klima und CO₂, es geht um das Ökosystem Erde, die Vielfalt des Lebens, um Landschaften und Lebensräume. Nationale Interessen dürfen hierbei niemals gegen planetare Zukunftsfähigkeit und intergenerationelle Gerechtigkeit verstoßen.“

English: “Science has always involved responsibility for the world and human development. Access to natural resources was made possible in the first place and legitimized technological progress to master untamed and wild nature for decades. For at least 30 years, the sciences have predominantly remained inactive and optimized destroying our future and that of our children and our children's children. Now it is up to us to end this overexploitation in all severity and with all consequences, even if it costs us our consumer prosperity. It's not just about climate and CO₂, it's about the Earth's ecosystem, the diversity of life, landscapes and habitats. National interests must never be allowed to conflict with planetary sustainability and intergenerational justice.

Français: « La science a toujours impliqué une prise de responsabilité pour le monde et le développement humain. Nous avons rendu possible l'accès aux ressources naturelles et légitimé le progrès technologique pour contrôler la nature sauvage et indomptée pendant des décennies. Pendant au moins 30 ans, les sciences sont restées majoritairement inactives, optimisant la manière dont nous détruisons notre avenir et celui de nos enfants et petits-enfants. Il nous appartient maintenant de mettre un terme à cette surexploitation dans toute sa gravité et avec toutes ses conséquences, même si cela nous coûte notre prospérité de consommateur. Il ne s'agit pas seulement du climat et du CO₂, mais de l'écosystème de la Terre, de la diversité de la vie, des paysages et des habitats. Les intérêts nationaux ne doivent jamais entrer en conflit avec la durabilité planétaire et la justice intergénérationnelle. »

12. Dr. Bernhard Stoevesandt:

„Auch, wenn bei fast allen politischen Parteien angekommen ist, dass wegen des Klimawandels gehandelt werden muss, scheint doch die Dringlichkeit überhaupt nicht klar zu sein: Wie bei einer Soforthilfe bei Hochwassern müsste unsere Gesellschaft umgestaltet werden und dies auch ehrlich der Bevölkerung vermittelt werden. Die Kosten sollten die tragen, die am meisten verursachen. Davon sind wir noch weit entfernt.“

English: “Even though almost all political parties have realized that action must be taken because of climate change, the urgency does not seem to be clear to all: Similar to activating emergency aid after a flood, our society should be reorganized and this should be honestly communicated to our citizenry. The costs should be borne by those who cause them. We are still a long way from that.

Français: « Même si presque tous les partis politiques ont compris que des mesures doivent être prises en raison du changement climatique, l'urgence ne semble pas du tout évidente : comme pour l'aide d'urgence en cas d'inondations, notre société devrait être réorganisée et cela devrait être communiqué honnêtement à la population. Les coûts devraient être supportés par ceux qui causent le plus. Nous en sommes encore loin. »

13. Prof. Dr. Karen Wiltshire:

„Weitermachen! Weil CO₂-Reduktion eine wissenschaftlich fundierte Operabilität braucht. Forschungsdaten zu Ökosystem-Integrität sind hier ein Schlüssel. Demos sind wichtig – es festigt den Willen weiterzumachen, und die Lautstärke ist höher. Zuhause die Wärme auszuschwitzen, ist keine Lösung.“

English: “Keep going! Because CO₂ reduction needs science-based operability. Research data on ecosystem integrity is key here. Demonstrations are important – they solidify the will to continue, and the volume is higher. Sweating out the heat at home is not the answer.

Français: « Continuez ! Parce que la réduction du CO₂ nécessite une opérabilité scientifiquement fondée. Les données de recherche sur l'intégrité de l'écosystème sont essentielles ici. Les manifestations sont importantes – elles consolident la volonté de continuer, et se font toujours plus entendre. Transpirer à la maison pour échapper à la chaleur n'est pas la solution. »

14. Prof. Dr. Jan Cermak:

„Spätestens durch die Extreme dieses Sommers haben viele realisiert, wie direkt Klimaänderung alle betrifft. Die Klimaforschung liefert Erklärungen, wir lehren und kommunizieren diese. Und wir wissen, dass aktueller Klimaschutz längst nicht ausreicht. Weltweit demonstrieren am 24.9. Menschen dafür, Klimapolitik an Erkenntnissen der Klimaforschung auszurichten. Das unterstütze ich voll!“

English: “At least since witnessing the extremes of this summer, many have realized how directly climate change affects everyone. Climate research provides explanations, and we teach and communicate them. And we know that current climate protection measures are far from sufficient. On September 24th, people around the world will demonstrate in favour of aligning climate policy with the findings of climate research. I fully support that!”

Français: « Pas plus tard que lors de cet été exceptionnel, beaucoup se sont rendu compte à quel point le changement climatique affecte directement tout le monde. La recherche climatique fournit des explications, nous les enseignons et les communiquons. Et nous savons que la protection actuelle du climat est loin d'être suffisante. Le 24 septembre, des personnes du monde entier manifesteront en faveur de l'alignement de la politique climatique sur les résultats de la recherche sur le climat. Je suis tout à fait d'accord ! »

15. Prof. Dr. Stefan Rahmstorf:

„Als Wissenschaftler haben wir alle eine Verantwortung, vor Gefahren zu warnen, so wie Mediziner vor den Risiken des Rauchens warnen und sich für Rauchverbote engagiert haben, und jetzt für Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der COVID19-Pandemie eintreten. Deshalb trete ich am 24.9. für Klimaschutz ein!“

English: “As scientists, we all have a responsibility to warn of dangers, just as physicians who warn of the risks of smoking and have campaigned for smoking bans, and are now advocating measures to contain the COVID19 pandemic. That's why I'm standing up for climate action on 9/24!”

Français: « En tant que scientifiques, nous avons tous la responsabilité de mettre en garde contre les dangers, tout comme les médecins mettent en garde contre les risques du tabagisme, ont fait campagne pour l'interdiction de fumer, et préconisent maintenant des mesures pour contenir la pandémie de COVID-19. C'est pourquoi je défends la protection du climat le 24 septembre ! »

16. Prof. Dr. Bernhard Neumärker:

„Die durch weltweite Brände, Fluten und andere Desaster angefachte Krisenstimmung zeigt, dass Krisenmanagement auch in entwickelten Gesellschaften nicht zur Stärke nationaler oder globaler Politik gehört. Deshalb ist es unbedingt zu vermeiden, auf eine Verschärfung der Klimakrise mit all ihren unvorhersehbaren Effekten und Folgen zu warten. Es gilt jetzt das Ruder herumzureißen, um resilientes Leben und gesellschaftliches Miteinander noch präventiv sicherstellen zu können.“

English: “The sense of crisis fuelled by worldwide fires, floods and other disasters shows that crisis management is not part of the strength of national or global politics, even in developed societies. Therefore, it is imperative to avoid waiting for the climate crisis to worsen, with all its unpredictable effects and consequences. It is necessary to turn the tide now in order to still be able to ensure resilient living and social coexistence.

Français: « Le climat de crise alimenté par les incendies, les inondations et autres catastrophes à l'échelle mondiale montre que la gestion des crises ne fait pas partie des points forts de la politique nationale ou mondiale, même dans les sociétés développées. Il est donc impératif d'éviter d'attendre que la crise climatique s'aggrave avec tous ses effets et conséquences imprévisibles. Nous devons inverser la tendance dès maintenant afin de pouvoir garantir préventivement un mode de vie résilient et la coexistence sociale. »

17. PD Dr. Heike Hübener:

„Kästner schrieb 1933 in „Das fliegende Klassenzimmer“: „An allem Unfug, der geschieht, sind nicht nur die Schuld, die ihn begehen, sondern auch die, die ihn nicht verhindern.“ Das war damals auf die Nazis gemünzt, doch es gilt darüber hinaus. Wir Wissenschaftler:innen kennen die Lage und die Folgen. Lasst uns zusammen auch auf die Straße gehen, damit das Wissen in Handlungen umgesetzt wird.“

English: “In 1933, Erich Kästner wrote in "The Flying Classroom": ‘In all mischief that happens, not only those are to blame who commit it, but also those who do not prevent it.’ That was directed at the Nazis at the time, but it applies beyond. We scientists know the situation and the consequences. Let us also take to the streets together so that knowledge is translated into action.

Français: « Erich Kästner a écrit en 1933 dans La Classe volante : “Dans tous les méfaits qui arrivent, il ne faut pas seulement blâmer ceux qui les commettent, mais aussi ceux qui ne les empêchent pas.” Cela visait les nazis de l'époque, mais cela s'applique au-delà. Nous, scientifiques, connaissons la situation et les conséquences. Descendons aussi ensemble dans la rue pour que les connaissances se traduisent en actions. »

18. Dr. Michael Kopatz:

„Ich habe eine seltsame Erfahrung gemacht: Es gibt unpolitische Öko-Begeisterte. Menschen, denen Umweltschutz wichtig ist, die stundenlang über Plastikstrohhalme und Bienensterben diskutieren können und regelmäßig im Bioladen einkaufen, die aber dennoch unpolitisch sind und sich allenfalls bei den Wahlen an der Demokratie beteiligen. Aber um die Klimaerhitzung zu bekämpfen, sind Menschen gefragt, die den Arsch hochkriegen, die sich einmischen und über mehr nachdenken als die Verwendung ihres Einkommens.“

English: “I have made a strange discovery: There are non-political eco-enthusiasts. People who care about environmental protection, who can spend hours discussing plastic straws and bee mortality, and who regularly buy groceries at the health food store, but who are nonetheless apolitical and at most participate in democracy during elections. But to fight climate heating, people are needed who get off their asses, get involved, and think about more than how they spend their income.

Français: « J'ai fait une étrange expérience : il existe des éco-enthousiastes apolitiques. Des personnes pour qui la protection de l'environnement est importante, qui peuvent discuter pendant des heures des pailles en plastique et de la mortalité des abeilles et qui font régulièrement leurs courses au magasin d'alimentation biologique, mais qui sont néanmoins apolitiques et participent tout au plus à la démocratie lors des élections. Mais pour lutter contre le réchauffement climatique, il faut des gens qui se bougent le cul, s'impliquent et pensent à autre chose qu'à l'utilisation de leurs revenus. »

19. Dr. Judith Nora Hardt:

„Die Kinder von FFF legen den Finger in die Wunde und rütteln die Welt auf, in dem sie ihre und unsere Zukunft einfordern und dafür kämpfen. Am 24.9. gehe ich als Mutter und Wissenschaftlerin zum Klimastreik und fordere Fokus auf das Existentielle, Verantwortungsübernahme und Veränderungen gemessen an Klima-, Leben- und Kinderschutz. Hoffentlich sind wir viele!“

English: “The children of FFF put their finger on the wound and shake up the world by demanding and fighting for their and our future. On 9/24, as a mother and scientist, I am going to the climate strike and demand focus on the existential, on taking responsibility and on change, measured in climate, life and child protection. Hopefully there will be many of us!”

Français: « Les enfants de FFF mettent le doigt sur la plaie et secouent le monde en exigeant et en luttant pour leur et notre avenir. Le 24 septembre, en tant que mère et scientifique, je ferai la grève du climat et demanderai que l'on se concentre sur l'existentiel, que l'on prenne ses responsabilités et que l'on mesure les changements en termes de climat, de vie et de protection des enfants. Espérons que nous serons nombreux ! »

20. Dr. Michael Angrick:

„Die Erderhitzung stoppen. Für eine stringente Klimapolitik ohne Wenn und Aber im Sinne des Pariser Vertrags lohnt es sich auch auf die Straße zu gehen.“

English: “Stopping Global Warming. For a stringent climate policy without ifs and buts in the sense of the Paris Agreement, it is worth taking to the streets.

Français: « Arrêter le réchauffement climatique. Pour une politique climatique rigoureuse, sans “si” ni “mais” au sens de l'accord de Paris, il convient également de descendre dans la rue. »

21. PD Dr. Pietro P. Altermatt:

„Demonstrationen sind ein wichtiger Impulsgeber in der Demokratie, was mit meiner Rolle als Wissenschaftler durchaus vereinbar ist. Deshalb werde ich auch Kolleg:innen und Freund:innen versuchen zu motivieren, für eine Sache auf die Straße zu gehen, die wissenschaftlich belegt ist. Unsere Messungen, Modelle und Veröffentlichungen werden ernster genommen, wenn wir uns als Menschen zeigen.“

English: “Demonstrations are an important impulse generator in democracy, which is perfectly compatible with my role as a scientist. Therefore, I will also try to motivate colleagues and friends to take to the streets for a cause that is scientifically proven. Our measurements, models and publications will be taken more seriously if we show ourselves as human beings.

Français: « Les manifestations sont un générateur d'impulsions important en démocratie, ce qui est parfaitement compatible avec mon rôle de scientifique. C'est pourquoi j'essaierai également de motiver mes collègues et amis à descendre dans la rue pour une cause qui est scientifiquement prouvée. Nos mesures, modèles et publications seront pris plus au sérieux si nous nous montrons comme des êtres humains. »

22. Dr. Esther Brendel:

„Seit mir klar wurde, was die Klimakrise bedeutet, will ich mich am liebsten vor dem Parlament anketten, damit endlich gerettet wird, was noch zu retten ist. Was ist schon eine Verhaftung im Vergleich zum Zusammenbruch unserer Zivilisation? Trotzdem traue ich mich nicht. Bleibt mir nur, demonstrieren zu gehen und Wissenschaftskommunikation zu betreiben.“

English: “Since the extent of the climate crisis has become clear to me, I would have liked to chain myself in front of the parliament, so that finally, what can still be saved is saved. What is an arrest compared to the collapse of our civilization? Nevertheless, I do not dare. All that remains is for me to go out demonstrating and to engage in science communication.

Français: « Depuis que j'ai compris ce que signifie la crise climatique, j'aimerais m'enchaîner devant le parlement pour que ce qui peut encore être sauvé le soit enfin. Qu'est-ce qu'une arrestation comparée à l'effondrement de notre civilisation ? Néanmoins, je n'ose pas. Il ne me reste plus qu'à aller manifester et à m'engager dans la communication scientifique. »

23. Dr. Heiko Brendel:

„Wissenschaft kann nicht unpolitisch sein. Denn auch das Bemühen, sich als Wissenschaftler:in politisch nicht zu positionieren, ist eine politische Äußerung. Dazu womöglich eine, die Menschen in die Hände spielt, die man partout nicht unterstützen möchte. Daher nehme ich an Demonstrationen teil und genieße das Privileg, in einem Land leben zu dürfen, in dem ich ohne Angst demonstrieren kann.“

English: “Science cannot be apolitical. Because even the effort not to position oneself politically as a scientist is a political statement. And it may be one that plays into the hands of people who you really don't want to support. Therefore, I take part in demonstrations and enjoy the privilege of living in a country where I can demonstrate without fear.

Français: « La science ne peut pas être apolitique. Car même l'effort de ne pas se positionner politiquement en tant que scientifique est une déclaration politique. Laquelle fait peut-être le jeu de personnes que vous ne voulez vraiment pas soutenir. C'est pourquoi je participe à des manifestations et j'ai le privilège de vivre dans un pays où je peux manifester sans crainte. »

24. Prof. Dr. Ralf Seppelt:

„Unsere Zukunft ist mir nicht gleichgültig, auch ich hab’ Kinder! Als Wissenschaftler bin ich der Wahrheit verpflichtet, habe aber auch die Aufgabe, einen möglichen Elfenbeinturm zu verlassen. Sonst findet Kommunikation von wissenschaftlichen Ergebnissen in Fachartikeln, Pressemitteilungen, Interviews, und Beratungsgesprächen statt – nun auch auf der Straße! So am 24.9.“

English: “I cannot be indifferent to our future, I have children too! As a scientist I am obliged to the truth, but I also have the obligation to leave a possible ivory tower. Communication of scientific results usually takes place in scientific articles, press releases, consultations and interviews – now also on the street! Thus on September 24th.

Français: « Je ne peux pas être indifférent à notre avenir, j'ai aussi des enfants ! En tant que scientifique, je suis attaché à la vérité, mais j'ai aussi l'obligation de quitter une éventuelle tour d'ivoire. La communication des résultats scientifiques se fait généralement par le biais d'articles scientifiques, de communiqués de presse, de consultations et d'interviews – mais parfois aussi dans la rue ! Le 24 septembre. »

25. Prof. Dr. Carl Beierkuhnlein:

„Die aktuellen Ereignisse zeigen die Notwendigkeit zu handeln auf. Neben der klar prioritären Reduktion der Freisetzung klimawirksamer Gase muss ein Umdenken in der Landnutzung erfolgen. Orte, die jahrhundertelang sicher erschienen, sind dies nicht mehr. Die Förderung von nicht klimaangepasster, nicht zur Absicherung der Bevölkerung beitragender Landwirtschaft trägt leider zur Verschärfung bei. Der Nutzen der Biodiversität und vielfältig strukturierter Landschaften wird noch nicht erkannt. Wir müssen der Illusion entgegentreten, man könne den Auswirkungen des Klimawandels allein durch Flutmauern und höhere Brücken begegnen.“

English: “The current events show the necessity to act. In addition to the clearly prioritized reduction of the release of climate-impacting gases, a rethinking of land use must take place. Places that appeared safe for centuries no longer are. The promotion of non-climate-adapted agriculture that does not contribute to the security of the population unfortunately contributes to its aggravation. The benefits of biodiversity and diverse structured landscapes are not yet recognized. We must counter the illusion that the effects of climate change can be addressed by floodwalls and higher bridges alone.

Français: « Les événements actuels montrent la nécessité d'agir. Outre la priorité claire de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre, il faut repenser l'utilisation des sols. Les endroits qui semblaient sûrs pendant des siècles ne le sont plus. La promotion d'une agriculture non adaptée au climat, qui ne contribue pas à la sécurité de la population, contribue malheureusement à l'aggraver. Les avantages de la biodiversité et des paysages diversement structurés ne sont pas encore reconnus. Nous devons combattre l'illusion selon laquelle les impacts du changement climatique peuvent être traités uniquement par des murs de protection contre les inondations et des ponts plus hauts. »

26. Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Artemis Alexiadou:

„August 2021 – Waldbrand-Katastrophe im Mittelmeer und Kalifornien. Bedingt hauptsächlich durch Klimawandel. Mehr Fläche vernichtet als je zuvor. Was soll noch alles geschehen? Demonstration am 24. September 2021 aktiv unterstützen für eine verbesserte Klimaschutzpolitik.“

English: “August 2021 – Forest fire disaster in the Mediterranean and California. Caused mainly by climate change. More area destroyed than ever before. What else is to happen? Actively support the demonstration on September 24th, 2021 for improved climate protection policy.

Français: « Août 2021 – Catastrophe des feux de forêt en Méditerranée et en Californie. Principalement causé par le changement climatique. Plus de zones détruites que jamais. Que va-t-il se passer d'autre ? Le soutien actif à la manifestation du 24 septembre 2021 pour une meilleure politique de protection du climat. »

27. Prof. Dr. Dr. Felix Ekardt:

„Die wichtigste Bundestagswahl-Frage ist keine heimische, sondern was wir in der EU tun: Werden die Parteien die EU-Kommissionsvorschläge für mehr Klimaschutz akzeptieren – oder bremsen – oder weiter verbessern. Nötig ist Letzteres. Nur so sind null fossile Brennstoffe und eine stark reduzierte Tierhaltung bis Anfang der 2030er Jahre möglich, ohne die die 1,5-Grad-Grenze nicht sicher einzuhalten ist. Dafür muss am 24.9. demonstriert werden.“

English: “The most important federal election question is not a domestic one, but what we do as part of the EU: Will the parties accept – or put the brakes on – or further improve the EU Commission's proposals for more climate protection. The latter is necessary. This is the only way to achieve zero fossil fuels and greatly reduced animal husbandry by the early 2030s, without which the 1.5-degree limit cannot be safely met. We must demonstrate for this on 9/24.

Français: « La question la plus importante des élections au Bundestag n'est pas une question nationale, mais ce que nous faisons dans l'UE : les parties accepteront-elles – ou freineront-elles – ou amélioreront-elles encore les propositions de la Commission européenne pour une plus grande protection du climat ? Cette dernière est nécessaire. C'est le seul moyen de parvenir à l'absence de combustibles fossiles et à une forte réduction de l'élevage d'ici le début des années 2030, sans quoi la limite de 1,5 degré ne pourra être respectée en toute sécurité. C'est ce pour quoi nous devons manifester le 24 septembre. »

28. Dr. Gregor Hagedorn

„Am 24.9. demonstriere ich gemeinsam mit vielen jungen Menschen für Erhalt und Regeneration unserer Lebensgrundlagen. Meine Generation ist dafür verantwortlich, will dies aber nicht wahrhaben. Unser Handeln wird meiner Ansicht nach von künftigen Generationen mit demselben Unverständnis betrachtet werden, mit dem wir heute historische Formen der Sklaverei betrachten. Bei Vergehen gegen die Menschenrechte gibt es kein „unpolitisch“. Ob wir schweigen oder reden – beides ist politisch.“

English: “On 24 September, I will be demonstrating together with many young people for the preservation and regeneration of our natural livelihood. My generation is responsible for this, but does not want to admit it. In my opinion, our actions will be viewed by future generations with the same lack of understanding with which we view historical forms of slavery today. When it comes to human rights abuses, there is no such thing as “apolitical”. Whether we remain silent or speak out – both are political.

Français: « Le 24 septembre, je manifesterai avec des jeunes pour la préservation et la régénération de nos moyens de subsistance. Ma génération est responsable de cette situation, mais ne veut pas l'admettre. À mon avis, nos actions seront considérées par les générations futures avec le même manque de compréhension que celui avec lequel nous considérons l'esclavage ouvert aujourd'hui. L'apolitisme n'existe pas lorsqu'il s'agit de violations des droits de l'homme. Que nous gardions le silence ou que nous nous exprimions – les deux sont politiques. »

[Hier liegt ein Sonderfall vor: Dieser Aufruf befand sich im Brief, wurde aufgrund von Einsprüchen im deutschen Koordinationsteam von S4F bezüglich des gemachten Vergleichs aber nicht auf den S4F Social Media Kanälen publiziert. Dokumentiert ist hier, wie in den anderen Fällen auch, die gegenüber dem Brief für Social Media nachgebesserte Version. Die Publikation einer darüber hinaus erweiterten Version erfolgte schließlich unter https://twitter.com/wozukunft/status/1440167992046743557]

29. Dr. Arnulf Köhncke:

„Mit Klimakrise und Artensterben bringen wir Menschen gerade unseren Planeten und unser eigenes gesundes und sicheres Leben in Gefahr. Aber es gibt Hoffnung: Weil wir diese Krisen verursachen, können wir sie auch stoppen. Dafür haben wir die Verantwortung, das Wissen und die Mittel. Und dafür gehe ich am 24.9. auf die Straße.“

English: “With both climate crisis and species extinction, we humans are currently putting our planet and our own healthy and safe lives in danger. But there is hope: Because we cause these crises, we can also stop them. We have the responsibility, the knowledge and the means to do so. And that's why I'm taking to the streets on 9/24.

Français: « Avec la crise climatique et l'extinction des espèces, nous, les humains, mettons en danger notre planète et notre propre vie saine et sûre. Mais il y a de l'espoir : puisque nous sommes à l'origine de ces crises, nous pouvons aussi les arrêter. Nous avons la responsabilité, les connaissances et les moyens de le faire. Et c'est pour ça que je descends dans la rue le 24 septembre. »

30. Dr. Lorena Valdivia Steel:

„In der Pandemie ist mir die Bedeutung von Vorbildern noch einmal klar geworden: Viele lassen sich erst impfen, wenn die anderen es machen. Mit Klimaschutz und Demokratie ist es nicht anders. Wenn Deutschland Vorbild ist, machen auch andere mit. Ich bin in der Diktatur in Chile aufgewachsen und beobachte seit 20 Jahren mit Begeisterung, wie in Deutschland echte Demokratie gelebt wird: Gesicht zeigen, in aller Öffentlichkeit. Wenn wir aufgrund unserer Arbeit besonders gut informiert sind, dann müssen wir das mitteilen, die Rolle der Wissenschaftler:innen verlassen und in die der Bürger:innen schlüpfen. Lasst uns die Erfolge von 2019 beim internationalen Klimastreik am 24.9. wiederholen!“

English: “In the pandemic, the importance of role models has once again become clear to me: Many people don't get vaccinated until others do. It's no different with climate protection and democracy. If Germany is a role model, others will join in. I grew up under the dictatorship in Chile, and for the past 20 years I have been enthusiastically observing how real democracy is practiced in Germany: Showing face, in public. If we are particularly well-informed because of our work, then we need to share that, leave the role of scientist and slip into the role of citizen. Let's repeat the successes of 2019 at the international climate strike on 9/24!”

Français: « La pandémie m'a fait prendre conscience une fois de plus de l'importance des modèles : de nombreuses personnes ne se font vacciner que lorsque d'autres le font. Il en va de même pour la protection du climat et la démocratie. Si l'Allemagne est un modèle, les autres suivront. J'ai grandi sous la dictature au Chili et j'observe avec enthousiasme depuis 20 ans comment la vraie démocratie est vécue en Allemagne : montrer son visage, en public. Si nous sommes particulièrement bien informés grâce à notre travail, nous devons le partager, quitter le rôle d'universitaire et nous glisser dans celui de citoyen. Répétons les succès de 2019 lors de la grève internationale du climat le 24 septembre ! »

31. Prof. Dr. Peter Hennicke:

„Es gibt Themen und Zeitpunkte von welthistorischer Bedeutung, da müssen wir Wissenschaftler raus aus den Studierstuben und unsere Stimme vernehmlich in der Öffentlichkeit erheben. Die äußerst bedrohliche Entwicklung beim Klimawandel ist ein solcher Anlass und die weltweite Jugendbewegung der FFF eine der großartigsten Ermutigungen, die mir beim Forschen und Schreiben für eine nachhaltige Energiewelt begegnet ist. Es wäre wunderbar und wirksam, wenn sehr viele junge Menschen und Wissenschaftler jeden Alters die Forderung nach ambitioniertem Klimaschutz auf der gemeinsamen Demonstration am 24.9. zum Ausdruck bringen würden.“

English: “There are topics and times of world-historical importance where we scientists have to leave our study rooms and raise our voices in public. The extremely threatening development in climate change is such an occasion, and the worldwide youth movement of FFF is one of the greatest encouragements I have encountered in researching and writing for a sustainable energy world. It would be wonderful and effective if a lot of young people and scientists of all ages would express the demand for ambitious climate protection at the joint demonstration on 9/24.

Français: « Il y a des sujets et des moments d'importance historique mondiale où nous, scientifiques, devons quitter nos salles d'étude et élever la voix en public. L'évolution extrêmement menaçante du changement climatique est une telle occasion et le mouvement mondial des jeunes de la FFF est l'un des plus grands encouragements que j'ai rencontrés dans mes recherches et mes écrits pour un monde énergétique durable. Il serait merveilleux et efficace que de très nombreux jeunes et scientifiques de tous âges expriment la demande d'une protection climatique ambitieuse lors de la manifestation commune du 24 septembre. »

32. Dr. Melanie Bergmann:

„Trotz Bundesverfassungsgerichtsurteil, Weltklimarat-Bericht und stetigen Krisen-Meldungen (Hochwasser, Brände) haben die Parteien kein Konzept für wirksamen Klimaschutz. Der Treibhausgasausstoß steigt ungebremst. Daher ist dieser Klimastreik einer der wichtigsten überhaupt, gilt es doch Politik und Mitbürger*innen kurz vor dieser richtungsweisenden Bundestagswahl noch mal zu zeigen, dass Klimaschutz ganz oben auf die Agenda gehört.“

English: “Despite the ruling of the Federal Constitutional Court, the report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change and constant reports of crises (floods, fires), the political parties have no concept for effective climate protection, and greenhouse gas emissions have further increased. Therefore, this climate strike is one of the most important of all, it is important to show politicians and fellow citizens shortly before this trend-setting federal election once again that climate protection belongs at the top of the agenda.

Français: « Malgré l'arrêt de la Cour constitutionnelle fédérale, le rapport du Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat et les rapports constants de crises (inondations, incendies), les partis n'ont aucun concept pour une protection efficace du climat, les émissions de gaz à effet de serre ont augmenté. C'est pourquoi cette grève du climat est l'une des plus importantes de toutes, car il s'agit de montrer une fois de plus aux politiciens et aux concitoyens que la protection du climat doit figurer en tête de l'ordre du jour, peu avant ces élections fédérales qui seront déterminantes. »

33. Prof. Dr. Volker Quaschning:

„Die Klimakrise ist die größte Bedrohung der Menschheit. Aber die besten wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse dazu helfen nichts, wenn Politik und Gesellschaft sie ignorieren. Darum haben wir in der Wissenschaft auch die Verantwortung, mit anderen Mitteln auf die Bedrohung aufmerksam zu machen und uns am Klimastreik zu beteiligen.“

English: “The climate crisis is the greatest threat to humanity. But even the best scientific findings are of no use if politicians and society ignore them. That's why we in science also have a responsibility to use other means to draw attention to the threat and to participate in the climate strike.

Français: « La crise climatique est la plus grande menace pour l'humanité. Mais les meilleures découvertes scientifiques ne sont d'aucune utilité si les politiciens et la société les ignorent. C'est pourquoi nous, scientifiques, avons également la responsabilité d'attirer l'attention sur cette menace par d'autres moyens et de participer à la grève du climat. »

34. Adolf Kloke-Lesch:

„Am Ende einer gescheiterten Afghanistanpolitik heißt es, man habe das alles so nicht wissen können. Beim Klimawandel ist es jedenfalls anders: Wir wissen, dass er passiert und wie wir ihn eindämmen können. Lassen wir nicht zu, dass dieses Wissen im Schatten von Sicherheitspolitik wieder auf ein Nebengleis geschoben wird! Im Interesse globaler nachhaltiger Entwicklung: Tragen wir dieses Wissen in die globale Klimademonstration am 24.09.“

English: “At the end of a failed Afghanistan policy, it was said that there was no way of knowing. With climate change, however, it's different: we know that it's happening and we know how to contain it. Let us not allow this knowledge to be sidelined again in the shadow of security policy! In the interest of global sustainable development: Let us carry this knowledge into the global climate demonstration on September 24th.

Français: « A la fin d'une politique afghane ratée, on dit que l’on ne pouvait pas tout savoir. Avec le changement climatique, c'est différent : nous savons qu'il se produit et nous savons comment l'endiguer. Ne laissons pas ces connaissances être à nouveau mises de côté dans l'ombre de la politique de sécurité ! Dans l'intérêt d'un développement durable à l'échelle mondiale : transmettons ces connaissances lors de la manifestation mondiale sur le climat du 24 septembre. »

35. Dr. Maria-Elena Vorrath:

„Es macht mich wütend, dass die Politik die Wissenschaft seit 50 Jahren ignoriert und die Klimakrise dadurch zur Existenzfrage geworden ist. Wir dürfen demgegenüber nicht mutlos und gleichgültig sein. Wir sind die „Profis“. Wenn wir nicht das Wort erheben, wer dann? Unsere akademischen Titel entbinden uns nicht von unserer gesellschaftlichen Verantwortung die Klimakrise klar zu benennen. Ganz im Gegenteil.“

English: “It makes me angry that politicians have ignored scientists for 50 years and that the climate crisis has thus become a question of existence. We must not be despondent and indifferent to this. We are the "professionals." If we don't speak up, who will? Our academic titles do not absolve us from our social responsibility to clearly name the climate crisis. Quite the opposite.

Français: « Je suis furieuse que la politique ait ignoré la science pendant 50 ans et que la crise climatique soit ainsi devenue une question d'existence. Nous ne devons pas être découragés et indifférents face à cela. Nous sommes les “professionnels”. Si nous ne nous exprimons pas, qui le fera ? Nos titres universitaires ne nous dispensent pas de notre responsabilité sociale de nommer clairement la crise climatique. C'est tout le contraire. »

36. Dr. Klaus Müschen:

„Für ein schnelles Ende der fossilen und eine nachhaltige Energienutzung demonstrieren wir am 24.9., damit auch kommende Generationen auf unserem Planeten gut leben können.“

English: “For a quick end of fossil fuels and for a sustainable use of energy we demonstrate on 9/24 so that future generations may also live well on our planet.

Français: « Nous manifestons le 24 septembre pour une fin rapide des combustibles fossiles et une utilisation durable de l'énergie, afin que les générations futures puissent également bien vivre sur notre planète. »

37. Prof. Dr. Victor Smetacek:

„Ich gehe zur Demonstration und kläre auf: Um weitere, noch schwerere Klimaschäden zu verhindern, muss jede Tonne CO2, die heute emittiert wird, wieder sequestriert werden. Und auch das CO2 der letzten Jahrzehnte, muss entfernt werden. Das sind 550 Gigatonnen Kohlenstoff – so viel, wie in der gesamten globalen Biomasse enthalten ist. Gibt das nicht zu denken?“

English: “I will go to the demonstration and clarify: To prevent further, even more severe climate damage, every ton of CO2 that is emitted today must be re-sequestered. And also the CO2 of the last decades, must be removed. That's 550 gigatons of carbon – as much as is contained in the entire global biomass. Doesn't that make you think?”

Français: « Je vais aller à la manifestation et clarifier ceci : pour éviter des dommages climatiques encore plus graves, chaque tonne de CO₂ émise aujourd'hui doit être re-séquestrée. Et il faut aussi éliminer le CO₂ des dernières décennies. Cela représente 550 gigatonnes de carbone, soit autant que ce qui est contenu dans l'ensemble de la biomasse mondiale. Cela ne vous fait-il pas réfléchir ? »

38. Dr. Bernhard Steinberger:

„Fridays for Future streiken seit drei Jahren; Politiker haben viel geredet und versprochen, aber zu wenig getan. Deshalb muss Druck gemacht werden, damit erneuerbare Energien massiv ausgebaut und CO2-Emissionen drastisch gesenkt werden. Am 24.9 gilt wieder: Everyone is welcome, everyone is needed! Gerade Wissenschaftler haben ein hohes öffentliches Ansehen; unsere Teilnahme sehr wichtig!“

English: “Fridays for Future has been on strike for three years; politicians have talked and promised a lot, but done too little. Therefore, pressure must be exerted so that renewable energies are massively expanded and CO2 emissions are drastically reduced. On 9/24 it is imperative again: Everybody is welcome, everybody is needed! Especially as scientists have a high public reputation; our participation is very important!”

Français: « Les Fridays for the Future sont en grève depuis trois ans ; les politiciens ont beaucoup parlé et promis, mais n'ont pas fait grand-chose. Il faut donc faire pression pour développer massivement les énergies renouvelables et réduire drastiquement les émissions de CO₂. Le 24 septembre, c'est encore une fois : tout le monde est le bienvenu, tout le monde est nécessaire ! Les scientifiques en particulier ont une visibilité élevée ; notre participation est très importante ! »

39. Prof. Dr. Ulrike Jordan:

„Endlich. Ein – wenigstens etwas – geöffnetes Ohr in weiteren Teilen von Politik und Gesellschaft seit den ersten großen Klimastreiks. Jetzt erst scheinen wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse überhaupt durchzudringen, häufig nicht etwa im Namen von Institutionen, sondern im Namen von Scientists for Future, als Teil der Bewegung. Um durchzudringen BRAUCHEN wir den Druck der Straße, wir brauchen den Klimastreik. Besonders kurz vor der Bundestagswahl. Bitte macht mit!“

English: “Finally! An – at least somewhat – open ear in further parts of politics and society since the first big climate strikes. Only now scientific findings seem to penetrate at all, often not in the name of institutions, but in the name of Scientists for Future, as part of the movement. To break through we NEED the pressure of the street, we need the climate strike. Especially shortly before the federal elections. Please join us!”

Français: « Enfin. Une oreille – au moins un peu – ouverte dans des secteurs plus larges de la politique et de la société depuis les premières grandes frappes climatiques. Ce n'est qu'aujourd'hui que les résultats scientifiques semblent être diffusés, souvent non pas au nom des institutions, mais au nom de Scientists for Future, dans le cadre du mouvement. Pour percer, nous avons besoin de la pression de la rue, nous avons besoin de la grève du climat. Surtout peu avant les élections fédérales. Rejoignez-nous ! »

40. Prof. Mario Tvrtković:

„Wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse, Wissenstransfer und gesellschaftliche Verantwortung gehen Hand in Hand. Wir haben aber ein Umsetzungsdefizit bei der Transformation zu einer nachhaltigen und gerechten Zukunft. Öffentliche Räume, wie Straßen, Plätze usw. – mit Versammlungsfreiheit, Marktrecht und allgemeiner Zugänglichkeit – sind Aushandlungsorte einer demokratischen und aufgeklärten Gesellschaft und politisches Korrektiv zugleich. Daher gehe ich am 24.9. mit auf die Straße für eine lebenswerte Stadt und wissensbasierte Klimapolitik.“

English: “Scientific findings, knowledge transfer and social responsibility go hand in hand. But we have an implementation deficit in the transformation to a sustainable and just future. Public spaces, such as streets, squares, etc. – with freedom of assembly, market rights and general accessibility – are negotiation sites of a democratic and enlightened society and a political corrective at the same time. That's why I'm taking to the streets on 9/24 for a liveable city and a knowledge-based climate policy.

Français: « Les résultats scientifiques, le transfert de connaissances et la responsabilité sociale vont de pair. Cependant, nous avons un déficit de mise en œuvre dans la transformation vers un avenir durable et juste. Les espaces publics, tels que les rues, les places, etc. – avec la liberté de réunion, les droits du marché et l'accessibilité générale –, sont des sites de négociation d'une société démocratique et éclairée et en même temps un correctif politique. C'est pourquoi je descends dans la rue le 24 septembre pour une ville vivable et une politique climatique fondée sur la connaissance. »

41. Prof. Dr. Marco Bohnhoff:

„In der Vergangenheit habe ich den Spruch „Die Erde brennt“ auch teils für Panikmache gehalten. Spätestens angesichts der aktuellen Berichterstattung von unzähligen durch Hitzewellen ausgelösten Feuern auf allen Kontinenten ist wohl klar: Es muss dringend gehandelt werden. Als Wissenschaftler kann ich sagen: Die Bringschuld ist erfolgt, die Fakten liegen auf dem Tisch und es ist unbestreitbar, dass die Klimakatastrophe menschengemacht ist. Jetzt ist es Zeit, dass die Entscheidungsträger handeln und dafür braucht es öffentlichen Druck. Deswegen gehe ich am 24.9. in Berlin mit auf die Straße und protestiere.“

English: “In the past, I sometimes thought the slogan "The earth is burning" was scaremongering. In view of the current reports of countless fires triggered by heat waves on all continents, it is abundantly clear that urgent action is needed. As a scientist, I can say that the blame has been laid, the facts are on the table, and it is indisputable that the climate catastrophe is man-made. Now it's time for decision-makers to act, and for that we need public pressure. That's why I'm taking to the streets in Berlin on Sept. 24th to protest.

Français: « Dans le passé, j'ai parfois pensé que le slogan “La Terre brûle” était alarmiste. Au plus tard, au vu des rapports actuels sur les innombrables incendies déclenchés par les vagues de chaleur sur tous les continents, il est clair qu'il est urgent d'agir. En tant que scientifique, je peux dire : la dette a été payée, les faits sont sur la table et il est indiscutable que la catastrophe climatique est d'origine humaine. Il est maintenant temps que les décideurs agissent, et pour cela nous avons besoin de la pression du public. C'est pourquoi je descends dans les rues de Berlin le 24 septembre pour protester. »

42. Prof. Dr. Dr. Martina Schäfer:

„Wissenschaftlich gibt es keinerlei Zweifel mehr, dass wir nur mit äußerst konsequentem Handeln noch in der Lage sind, die schlimmsten Folgen des Klimawandels zu verhindern. Die Verantwortung für dieses konsequente Handeln besteht für uns als Privatpersonen, in unserer beruflichen Rolle und als politische Bürger. Um die breite Koalition derer, die zum Handeln bereit sind, gegenüber der Politik und der breiten Öffentlichkeit deutlich zu machen, bin ich am 24.9. auf jeden Fall dabei.“

English: “Scientifically, there is no longer any doubt that only with extremely consistent action are we still able to prevent the worst consequences of climate change. The responsibility for this consistent action lies with us as individuals, in our professional roles, and as political citizens. In order to make the broad coalition of those willing to act clear to politicians and the general public, I will definitely be there on 9/24.

Français: « Scientifiquement, il ne fait plus aucun doute que ce n'est qu'avec une action extrêmement cohérente que nous pourrons encore prévenir les pires conséquences du changement climatique. La responsabilité de cette action cohérente nous incombe en tant que particuliers, dans nos rôles professionnels et en tant que citoyens politiques. Afin de faire comprendre aux politiciens et au grand public la large coalition de ceux qui sont prêts à agir, je serai assurément présent le 24 septembre. »

43. Prof. Dr. Gisbert Fanselow:

„Informiert, sachbezogen, offen, freundlich, bestimmt, engagiert – wer jemals Kontakt mit Fridays for Future hatte, weiß, was für eine tolle Generation diese Bewegung trägt. Sie haben Anspruch auf unsere Unterstützung – nicht nur bei ihrer Ausbildung an den Hochschulen, sondern auch im Kampf für ihre Zukunft.“

English: “Informed, relevant, open, friendly, determined, committed – anyone who has ever had contact with Fridays for Future knows what a great generation this movement carries. They are entitled to our unconditional support – not only in their education at the universities, but also in the fight for their future.

Français: « Informé, pertinent, ouvert, sympathique, déterminé, engagé – toute personne ayant eu un contact avec les Fridays for the Future sait quelle grande génération porte ce mouvement. Ils ont droit à notre soutien inconditionnel – non seulement pour leur formation dans les universités, mais aussi dans la lutte pour leur avenir. »

44. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Wägele:

„Die globale Erwärmung verläuft so schnell, dass die Natur sich nicht anpassen kann. Das dadurch verstärkte Artensterben ist unumkehrbar.“

English: “Global warming is happening so fast that nature cannot adapt. The resulting increase in species extinction is irreversible.

Français: « Le réchauffement climatique est si rapide que la nature ne peut pas s'adapter. L'augmentation de l'extinction des espèces qui en résulte est irréversible. »

45. Prof. Dr. Jürgen Scheffran:

„Die Proteste von Fridays for Future sind wesentlich, um Katastrophen und Gewaltkonflikte durch den Klimawandel zu vermeiden. In einer Welt am Scheideweg tragen sie viel dazu bei, die Transformation in eine friedlichere und nachhaltigere Zukunft zu beschleunigen, damit die kommenden Generationen in Eintracht untereinander und mit den natürlichen Rahmenbedingungen leben können.“

English: “The Fridays for Future protests are essential to avoid catastrophes and violent conflicts caused by climate change. In a world at a crossroads, they do much to accelerate the transformation to a more peaceful and sustainable future, so that future generations can live in harmony with each other and with the natural environment.

Français: « Les manifestations des Fridays for the Future sont essentielles pour éviter les catastrophes et les conflits violents causés par le changement climatique. Dans un monde à la croisée des chemins, ils contribuent grandement à accélérer la transformation vers un avenir plus pacifique et plus durable, afin que les générations futures puissent vivre en harmonie les unes avec les autres et avec le cadre naturel. »

46. Prof. Dr. Marianne Darbi:

„Ich gehe am 24.09. auch dafür auf die Straße, dass die Naturschützer:innen, die ich heute ausbilde, die politischen Rahmenbedingungen vorfinden, um sich endlich wirkungsvoll dafür einsetzen zu können, die Schönheit der Natur nachhaltig zu bewahren.“

English: “On September 24th, I will also take to the streets to ensure that the conservationists I am training today have the political framework they need to finally be able to work effectively to preserve the beauty of nature in the long term.

Français: « Le 24 septembre, je descendrai également dans la rue pour que les protecteurs de la nature que je forme aujourd'hui trouvent les conditions-cadres politiques qui leur permettront enfin de travailler efficacement à la préservation à long terme de la beauté de la nature. »

47. Prof. Dr. Hans-Otto Pörtner:

„Wir sehen seit langem Schwierigkeiten, ambitionierten Klimaschutz politisch umzusetzen. Dahinter steht wohl die Erwartung, durch verzögertes Handeln den erarbeiteten Wohlstand besser bewahren zu können. Das ist ein Irrtum. Der Klimawandel wird durch zunehmende Schadensereignisse und Verluste an Menschenleben Veränderungen erzwingen, und er hat schon damit angefangen. Es ist alternativlos, vorsorglich Klimaschutz zu betreiben und die Vorgaben des Pariser Klimaabkommens einzuhalten. Daran sollte die Politik jeden Tag denken, muss aber wohl von der besorgten und engagierten Öffentlichkeit immer wieder daran erinnert werden.“

English: “We have long seen difficulties in implementing ambitious climate protection politically. This is probably based on the expectation that delayed action will help to preserve the prosperity we have achieved. This is a mistake. Climate change will force change through increasing damaging events and loss of life, and it has already begun to do so. There is no alternative to taking precautionary climate action and complying with the Paris Climate Agreement. Politicians should think about this every day, but they probably need to be reminded of it again and again by the concerned and committed public.

Français: « Nous constatons depuis longtemps les difficultés à mettre en œuvre politiquement une protection climatique ambitieuse. Cela est probablement dû au fait que l'on s'attend à ce que le fait de retarder l'action permette de préserver plus facilement la prospérité que nous avons atteinte. C'est une erreur. Le changement climatique imposera des changements en augmentant les dommages et les pertes de vies humaines, et il a déjà commencé. Il n'y a pas d'alternative à la protection climatique de précaution et au respect de l'accord de Paris sur le climat. Les politiciens devraient y penser tous les jours, mais doivent probablement se le faire rappeler encore et encore par le public concerné et engagé. »

48. Prof. Dr. Daniela Winkler:

„Klimaschutz wird häufig als Gefahr für die individuelle Freiheit verstanden. Das Bundesverfassungsgericht hat in seiner Entscheidung zur Klimaklage jedoch klargestellt: Der Kampf gegen die Klimakrise ist auch ein Kampf für unsere künftige Freiheit, die gleichermaßen durch die drohenden klimatischen Veränderungen wie dann unvermeidbare Anpassungsmaßnahmen bedroht wird. Es gilt also die zukünftige Freiheit heute zu verteidigen.“

English: “Climate protection is often seen as a threat to individual freedom. However, the Federal Constitutional Court has made it clear in its decision on the climate lawsuit: The fight against the climate crisis is also a fight for our future freedom, which is equally threatened by the threat of climatic changes and then unavoidable adaptation measures. Therefore we must defend future freedom today.

Français: « La protection du climat est souvent considérée comme une menace pour la liberté individuelle. Cependant, la Cour constitutionnelle fédérale a été claire dans sa décision concernant le procès sur le climat : la lutte contre la crise climatique est aussi un combat pour la liberté future, qui est également menacée par les changements climatiques imminents et les mesures d'adaptation inévitables. Il est donc nécessaire de défendre aujourd'hui notre liberté future. »

49. Prof. Dr. Peter Lemke:

„Der neue Bericht des IPCC malt ein düsteres Bild unserer Zukunft. Unsere Welt wird zu warm, die Gebirgsgletscher schwinden zu stark, der Meeresspiegel steigt zu sehr, und die Extremereignisse, z.B. Hitzewellen und Starkniederschläge nehmen zu, um weiterhin so zu leben wie bisher. Aber wir haben noch eine Chance, das Schlimmste zu verhindern. Dafür ist aber ein schnelles Handeln auf Seiten der Politik und der Gesellschaft nötig. Wir können nicht so weitermachen wie bisher.“

English: “The new IPCC report paints a bleak picture of our future. Our world is getting too warm, mountain glaciers are shrinking too much, sea levels are rising too much, and extreme events, such as heat waves and heavy precipitation, are increasing for us to continue living as we do now. But we still have a chance to prevent the worst from happening. But this requires swift action on the part of politicians and society. We cannot continue as before.

Français: « Le nouveau rapport du GIEC brosse un tableau sombre de notre avenir. Notre monde se réchauffe trop, les glaciers de montagne diminuent trop, le niveau des mers augmente trop et les événements extrêmes, par exemple les vagues de chaleur et les fortes précipitations, se multiplient trop pour que nous puissions continuer à vivre comme nous le faisons actuellement. Mais nous avons encore une chance d'éviter le pire. Mais cela nécessite une action rapide de la part des politiciens et de la société. Nous ne pouvons pas continuer comme avant. »

50. Prof. Dr. Almut Arneth:

„Die Fakten sprechen seit Jahren, seit Jahrzehnten, für sich. Klimawandel ist Realität, Biodiversitätsverlust ist Realität. Wir können uns nicht länger die eigene Lebensgrundlage abgraben. Die Zeit zum entschlossenen Handeln ist jetzt.“

English: "The facts have been clear for years, for decades. Climate change is reality, biodiversity loss is reality. We can no longer continue to erode our own livelihoods. The time for decisive action is now.

Français: « Les faits parlent d'eux-mêmes depuis des années, des décennies. Le changement climatique est une réalité, la perte de biodiversité est une réalité. Nous ne pouvons plus continuer à éroder nos propres moyens de subsistance. Le temps de l'action décisive est venu. »

51. Dr. Camilla Bausch:

„Der IPCC stellt klar: Der Klimawandel trifft bereits jetzt jede bewohnte Region der Welt. Die Zunahme von Wetterextremen ist messbar und spürbar. Für mich bedeutet das, dass sich auch die Wissenschaft als Teil der Gesellschaft dieser Herausforderung und Menschheitsaufgabe klug, hörbar und sichtbar stellen muss.“

English: "The IPCC makes it clear: Climate change is already affecting every inhabited region of the world. The increase in weather extremes is measurable and noticeable. To me, this means that science, as part of society, must also rise to this challenge and humanity's task wisely, audibly and visibly.

Français: « Le GIEC est clair : le changement climatique affecte déjà toutes les régions habitées du monde. L'augmentation des phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes est mesurable et perceptible. Pour moi, cela signifie que la science, en tant que partie intégrante de la société, doit également relever ce défi et la tâche de l'humanité de manière judicieuse, audible et visible. »

52. Prof. Dr. Markus Reichstein:

„Nicht zuletzt hat der Bericht des Weltklimarats erneut gezeigt, dass Klimarisiken wie z.B. Extremwetter mit jeder Tonne Treibhausgasen steigen. Also verringert auch jede Aktion, die direkt oder indirekt zur Reduktion von Emissionen beiträgt, diese Risiken. Das ist die zentrale naturwissenschaftliche Botschaft für den 24.9.“

English: “The report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change has shown once again that climate risks such as extreme weather increase with every ton of greenhouse gases. So any action that contributes directly or indirectly to reducing emissions also reduces these risks. That's the key natural science message for 9/24.

Français: « Enfin, le rapport du Groupe d'experts intergouvernemental sur l'évolution du climat a montré une fois de plus que les risques climatiques tels que les phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes augmentent avec chaque tonne de gaz à effet de serre. Ainsi, toute action qui contribue directement ou indirectement à la réduction des émissions réduit également ces risques. C'est le message clé des sciences naturelles pour le 24.9 »

53. Prof. Dr. Pao-Yu Oei:

„Mir ist wichtig, dass politische Entscheidungen auf Basis unserer wissenschaftlichen Erkenntnisse getroffen werden. Leider geschieht dies oft nur wenn es auch ausreichenden medialen Druck – beispielsweise ausgelöst durch solche Klimademonstrationen – gibt. Daher unterstütze ich den Klimastreik am 24.9!“

English: "It is important to me that political decisions are made based on our scientific knowledge. Unfortunately, this often only happens when there is also sufficient media pressure – triggered by such climate demonstrations, for example. That's why I support the climate strike on 9/24!”

Français: « Il est important pour moi que les décisions politiques soient prises sur la base de nos connaissances scientifiques. Malheureusement, cela ne se produit souvent que lorsqu'il y a également une pression médiatique suffisante – déclenchée par ces manifestations climatiques, par exemple. C'est pourquoi je soutiens la grève du climat le 24.9 ! »

54. Prof. Dr. Kirsten v. Elverfeldt:

„Wissenschaftler*innen haben sich über Jahrzehnte – mahnend und eindringlich, aber mit einer in der Wissenschaft üblichen Zurückhaltung – zu Wort gemeldet und auf die Folgen der globalen Erwärmung hingewiesen. Der Erfolg hält sich in Grenzen: Es wird viel zu wenig und viel zu langsam getan. Ich denke, dass mehr vom selben nicht hilft. Wir müssen lauter sein und die Bürger*innen direkt ansprechen und auf die Klimakrise hinweisen. Deswegen demonstriere ich am 24.9. gemeinsam mit Fridays for Future!“

English: “Scientists have spoken out for decades – admonishingly and forcefully, but with a restraint that is customary in science – and pointed out the consequences of global warming. The success is limited: Far too little is being done, and far too slowly. I think that more of the same will not help. We have to be louder and address the citizens directly and point out the climate crisis. That's why I'm demonstrating on 9/24 together with Fridays for Future!”

Français: « Les scientifiques s'expriment depuis des décennies – de manière admonestante et insistante, mais avec une retenue habituelle en science – et soulignent les conséquences du réchauffement climatique. Le succès est limité : Beaucoup trop peu de choses sont faites, et beaucoup trop lentement. Je pense qu'il ne sert à rien de continuer dans la même voie. Nous devons être plus bruyants, nous adresser directement aux citoyens et attirer leur attention sur la crise climatique. C'est pourquoi je fais une démonstration sur 24.9 avec les Fridays for Future ! »

55. Prof. Dr. Verena Winiwarter:

„Wer, wenn nicht wir Wissenschaftler.innen? Was, wenn nicht die eindeutigen Ergebnisse des IPCC samt der Dringlichkeit ihrer Umsetzung? Wann, wenn nicht allerspätestens jetzt? Wo, wenn nicht dort, wo die Politik erreicht werden kann, protestierend auf der Straße? Wie, wenn nicht gewaltlos, aber eindringlich? Es gibt viele Gründe, Fridays for Future am 24.9. zu unterstützen, den Kampf der Jugend um ihre Zukunft auf unsere Agenda ganz oben zu setzen. Wir müssen unser ganzes Gewicht als Wissenschaftler.innen in die Waagschale werfen, damit die menschliche Zivilisation eine Zukunft hat. Ich bin am 24.9. Bei der Demo!“

English: “Who, if not us scientists? What if not the clear findings of the IPCC and the urgency of their implementation? When, if not now at the latest? Where, if not there, where politics can be reached, protesting in the streets? How, if not non-violently, but forcefully? There are many reasons to support Fridays for Future on 9/24, to put the struggle of youth for their future at the top of our agenda. We must bring our full weight as scientists to bear to ensure that human civilization has a future. I will be at the demo on 9/24!”

Français: « Qui, si ce n'est nous, les scientifiques ? Si ce n'est les conclusions claires du GIEC et l'urgence de leur mise en œuvre ? Quand, si ce n'est pas maintenant au plus tard ? Où, si ce n'est pas là, peut-on atteindre la politique, en protestant dans les rues ? Comment, si ce n'est pas de manière non-violente, mais avec force ? Il existe de nombreuses raisons de soutenir les Vendredis pour l'avenir sur le 24.9, afin de placer la lutte des jeunes pour leur avenir en tête de nos priorités. Nous devons peser de tout notre poids de scientifiques pour assurer l'avenir de la civilisation humaine. Je serai présent à la démo du 24.9 ! »

56. Prof. Dr. Michael Sterner:

„Alle technischen Lösungen sind da, wir müssen nur wollen! Das zeigen wir am 24.9.!“

English: "All the technical solutions are there, we just have to want them! We will show that on 24.9!”

Français: « Toutes les solutions techniques existent, il suffit de le vouloir ! C'est ce que nous montrerons le 24.9. ! »

57. Prof. Dr. Niklas Höhne:

„Soll sich Wissenschaft in Politik oder gar in den Wahlkampf einmischen? Nach 20 Jahren in der Klimawissenschaft und Mitarbeit im IPCC sage ich: Ja! Was die Wissenschaft nicht mag, ist unvollständige oder gar irreführende Argumentation. Die kommt leider im Wahlkampf vor. Deshalb der Aufruf an alle: Informieren, demonstrieren und richtig wählen!“

English: "Should science get involved in politics or even in election campaigns? After 20 years in climate science and working on the IPCC, I say: Yes! What science does not like is incomplete or even misleading argumentation. Unfortunately, this happens in election campaigns. Therefore, I call on everyone to inform, demonstrate and vote the right way!”

Français: « La science doit-elle s'immiscer dans la politique ou même dans la campagne électorale ? Après 20 ans de science climatique et de participation au GIEC, je réponds oui ! Ce que la science n'aime pas, c'est l'argumentation incomplète ou même trompeuse. Cela arrive malheureusement dans la campagne électorale. D'où l'appel lancé à tous : "Informez-vous, manifestez et votez correctement ! »

58. Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Cramer:

„Klima und Biodiversität gehören zusammen! Deshalb brauchen wir große Beteiligung am 24. September 2021.“

English: "Climate and biodiversity belong together! That's why we need a big turnout on 24 September 2021.

Français: « Le climat et la biodiversité vont de pair ! C'est pourquoi nous avons besoin d'une grande participation le 24 septembre 2021. »

Conclusions

Prior to the climate demonstrations in autumn 2021, scientists associated with S4F were once again faced with the question of how to balance their roles as citizens and scientists. Some colleagues felt that it was better - either as a scientist in general, or specifically in their public positions - not to speak out publicly. However, many colleagues were convinced that it would be appropriate for them to make a personal public appeal on social media. From a non-representative sample of colleagues, 58 posts were collected.

A brief analysis shows that 72% addressed climate issues and 31% (additionally or alternatively) nature/environment/biodiversity/ecosystems/land use issues. Between 13.8 and 8.6% also addressed at least one of the areas of economy, public welfare economy, consumption, peace, democracy, energy, transport, housing and health.

Most colleagues (67%) justified their call with scientific arguments. Two-thirds of them did so very concisely, and one-third with an increased level of detail / depth of information. Almost 64 % also mentioned or reflected on their role conflict as scientists and citizens in abstract form (almost 52 %) or in explicitly personal form (31 %). For reasons of available text length, this was usually done as an alternative to communicating detailed scientific information (22.4 %).

In social media, the calls also led to discussions about specific topics addressed.

In our view, the present example of public appeals in social media shows, among other things:

  • Many scientists are looking for answers to the questions: "What can scientists contribute to solving the climate crisis, the biodiversity crisis, or the sustainability crisis in general, beyond their research work? What problems and opportunities arise in each case?"
  • They are aware of a possible conflict between the roles of scientist and citizen. This is perceived as a balancing act in which silence, however, also influences the scales.
  • Science communication can take creative forms - even calls for demonstrations can be used for this.

The calls were only a small part of diverse engagement in support of the climate demonstrations. According to FFF Germany, more than 620,000 people took part in a total of about 400 demonstrations in Germany (Anonymous 2021).

Deutsch: Vor den Klimademonstrationen im Herbst 2021 standen bei S4F aktive Wissenschaftler:innen ein weiteres Mal vor der Frage, wie sie ihre Rollen als Bürger:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen in Einklang bringen können. Einige Kolleg:innen waren der Ansicht, es sei besser – entweder grundsätzlich als Wissenschaftler:in, oder speziell in ihren öffentlichen Positionen – sich nicht öffentlich zu äußern. Viele Kolleg:innen waren jedoch überzeugt, dass es für sie passend sei, einen persönlichen öffentlichen Aufruf in den sozialen Medien zu formulieren. Von einer nicht repräsentativen Auswahl von Kolleg:innen wurden 58 Beiträge gesammelt. Eine kurze Analyse zeigt, dass 72 % Klimathemen und 31 % (zusätzlich oder alternativ) Themen aus den Bereichen Natur/Umwelt/Biodiversität/Ökosysteme/Landnutzung thematisierten. Zwischen 13,8 und 8,6 Prozent thematisierten zudem mindestens einen der Bereiche Ökonomie, Gemeinwohlwirtschaft, Konsum, Frieden, Demokratie, Energie, Verkehr, Wohnen und Gesundheit. Die meisten Kolleg:innen (67 %) begründeten ihren Aufruf mit wissenschaftlichen Argumenten. Dies geschah zu zwei Drittel sehr knapp, zu einem Drittel mit einem erhöhten Detailgrad / erhöhter Informationstiefe. Knapp 64 % erwähnten oder reflektierten zudem ihren Rollenkonflikt als Wissenschaftler:innen und Bürger:innen in abstrakter Form (knapp 52 %) oder in explizit persönlicher Form (31 %). Aus Gründen der verfügbaren Textlänge geschah dies gewöhnlich alternativ zur Kommunikation von detaillierten wissenschaftlichen Informationen (22,4 %). In den sozialen Medien führten die Aufrufe zudem zu Diskussionen über bestimmte angesprochene Themen. Das vorliegende Beispiel der öffentlichen Aufrufe in den sozialen Medien zeigt unserer Ansicht nach unter anderen:

  • Viele Wissenschaftler:innen suchen Antworten auf die Fragen: „Was können Wissenschaftler:innen über ihre Forschungsarbeit hinaus zur Lösung der Klimakrise, Biodiversitätskrise, bzw. allgemein der Nachhaltigkeitskrise beitragen? Welche Probleme und Chancen ergeben sich jeweils?“
  • Sie sind sich eines möglichen Konflikts zwischen den Rollen als Wissenschaftler:in und Bürger:in bewusst. Dieser wird als Balanceakt wahrgenommen, bei dem allerdings auch ein Schweigen, die Waagschalen beeinflusst.
  • Wissenschaftskommunikation kann kreative Formen annehmen – auch Aufrufe zu Demonstrationen können hierfür genutzt werden.

Die Aufrufe waren nur ein kleiner Teil vielfältigen Engagements zur Unterstützung der Klimademonstrationen. Nach Angaben von FFF Deutschland nahmen in Deutschland an insgesamt ca. 400 Demonstrationen mehr als 620 000 Menschen teil (Anonymous 2021)

Français: Avant les manifestations climatiques de l'automne 2021, les scientifiques associés à S4F ont été une fois de plus confrontés à la question de savoir comment équilibrer leurs rôles de citoyens et de scientifiques. Certains collègues ont estimé qu'il valait mieux - soit en tant que scientifique en général, soit spécifiquement dans leurs positions publiques - ne pas s'exprimer publiquement. Cependant, de nombreux collègues étaient convaincus qu'il serait approprié pour eux de lancer un appel public personnel sur les médias sociaux. À partir d'un échantillon non représentatif de collègues, 58 messages ont été recueillis. Une brève analyse montre que 72 % d'entre eux traitaient de questions climatiques et 31 % (en plus ou à la place) de questions liées à la nature/à l'environnement/à la biodiversité/aux écosystèmes/à l'utilisation des terres. Entre 13,8 et 8,6% ont également abordé au moins un des domaines suivants : économie, économie sociale publique, consommation, paix, démocratie, énergie, transport, logement et santé. La plupart des collègues (67%) ont justifié leur appel par des arguments scientifiques. Deux tiers d'entre eux l'ont fait de manière très concise, et un tiers avec un niveau de détail / profondeur d'information accru. Près de 64 % ont également mentionné ou réfléchi au conflit de rôles qui les oppose en tant que scientifiques et citoyens, sous forme abstraite (près de 52 %) ou sous une forme explicitement personnelle (31 %). Pour des raisons de longueur de texte disponible, il s'agit généralement d'une alternative à la communication d'informations scientifiques détaillées (22,4 %). Dans les médias sociaux, les appels ont également donné lieu à des discussions sur les sujets spécifiques abordés. Selon nous, l'exemple actuel des appels publics dans les médias sociaux montre, entre autres, que:

  • De nombreux scientifiques sont à la recherche de réponses aux questions suivantes : "Que peuvent apporter les scientifiques à la résolution de la crise climatique, de la crise de la biodiversité ou de la crise de la durabilité en général, au-delà de leur travail de recherche ? Quels sont les problèmes et les possibilités qui se présentent dans chaque cas?"
  • Ils sont conscients d'un conflit possible entre les rôles de scientifique et de citoyen. Cette situation est perçue comme un exercice d'équilibre dans lequel le silence, cependant, influence aussi la balance.
  • La communication scientifique peut prendre des formes créatives - même les appels à manifestation peuvent être utilisés à cet effet.

Les appels ne représentaient qu'une petite partie de l'engagement diversifié en faveur des manifestations sur le climat. Selon FFF Allemagne, plus de 620 000 personnes ont participé à un total d'environ 400 manifestations en Allemagne (Anonymous 2021).

Acknowledgements

We are very grateful to Florian Kobler und Agnès Guillemot for their help with the translations.

References